Get $5 off your pre-order of THE READER"S ADVISORY GUIDE TO HORROR THIRD EDITION. Click here and also enter RAGH21 at checkout. Works via your ALA Member Discount additionally.

You are watching: The rosie project book club discussion questions


I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk around exactly how to assist your readers discover their following great check out. Click below for even more indevelopment consisting of RA for All"s EDI Statement.
*

Last Monday the group met to talk about the seemingly light romantic comedy, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. I say seemingly because tbelow is rather a bit of heft behind the fun right here. But that is for later on in the article, for now, here is the publisher"s summary:Meet Don Tillman, a brilliant yet socially challenged professor of genes, who’s decided it’s time he found a wife. And so, in the orderly, evidence-based manner with which Don approaches all points, he deindications the Wife Project to uncover his perfect partner: a sixteen-web page, scientifically valid survey to filter out the drinkers, the smokers, the late arrivers.Rosie Jarmale is all these points. She additionally is strangely beguiling, fiery, and intelligent. And while Don quickly disqualifies her as a candidate for the Wife Project, as a DNA experienced Don is particularly suited to help Rosie on her own quest: identifying her organic father.When an unmost likely connection creates as they collaborate on the Father Project, Don is required to face the spontaneous whirlwind that is Rosie—and also the realization that, despite your best scientific efforts, you don’t find love, it finds you.Arrestingly endearing and also totally untypical, Graeme Simsion’s distinctive deyet will certainly resonate with anyone that has actually ever tenaciously pursued life or love in the confront of good difficulties.The Rosie Projectis a rare find: a book that restores our optimism in the power of human connection.Before I obtain to the discussion itself, I would certainly choose to urge every one of you to look at the resources for this title on LitLovers bereason besides posting the publisher"s concerns (which are a resounding "meh" for this title) they had actually an addendum of a few more promising ones below.Now on to our great discussion:We had actually 7 preferred votes, 0 disliked, and 2 so-sos who were both leaning even more to choose.Some of our opening comments:
It felt too light and also fluffy at first, yet as I acquired right into it, and also in the last 100 pages, Don"s transdevelopment added depth and interemainder for me,As a former University Dean, I liked exactly how the book made fun of that world. It was so true.I felt choose Don was too dismissive around his very own Asperger"sActually, that"s what I chosen around it. It wasn"t an worry novel, or "woe as me." Don knew he was different and also uncovered positive and also negative points around it. This made the story move faster and was still indevelopmental around the obstacles he confronted.This book was hilarious.You cannot review this book without talking around Don, our narrator. Unanimously we all loved the narration here, even those that carry out not normally favor initially person. Comments...I favored this book bereason of Don and his distinctive POV. Simsion stayed in Don"s voice perfectly. The story stays within the narrowhead boxes Don calls for to feature in the human being, but as Don opens up, so too does the story.I favored that we got to recognize someone through Asperger"s on an individual level by reading this story.Don"s absence of self awareness at the start of the story reminded me that we can all be prefer that--not as self aware as we must be. His was just to an extreme. Watching him learn to watch himself much better made me think about my own self. Wonderful!Yes, an excellent example of this is just how a lot Don, a geneticist, criticizes his friend Gene for poorly teaching "Intro to Genetics," yet Don ignores the truth that Phil can be Rosie"s Dad.The lengths Don checked out in order to collect DNA produced excellent storyinforming, but it also illustrated a lot around Don"s character.This segue-wayed us into a discussion around the "Wife Project" in general:When the book began, I hated Don! He was such a jerk and also objectifying womales trying to uncover a wife with a questionnaire. But that was why the book was great. I gained mad at Don yet that was Simsion"s plan. As Don realized how poor his arrangement was, I started to love him.This book was additionally enlightening to me on a emotional level. I as well reacted poorly to Don at initially, however I realized that the entire book is a statement on just how we react as soon as we first meet world who are so various. Everyone needs a chance, specifically those that are external "normal." Who knows what actually lies behind the behavior?How various is Don"s job from e-dating sites? He might have been "weirder" about it than e-Harmony, however still, it is the same concept.We then started sharing stories of world meeting virtual utilizing a dating questionnaire.Even once single human being accomplish in perkid, tbelow is most self picking going on.I loved exactly how he kept altering the "scientific" survey. It proved how his reason was start to offer way to instinct when it pertained to love.Don and also Rosie both had to readjust, but Don had actually to readjust a little bit more.The "Wife Project" offered to teach all of us a lesson around exactly how we are all distinctive and all have to adapt to make it through in the world. We must make concessions to live and also work together.Question: Can Don feel love?Rosie is worried he could not love her the way she wants to be loved.We decided that Don have the right to feel love yet Rosie required to accept exactly how Don will certainly love her. It is different than the Rom Coms love that Don studies to learn from, however tright here is no question that he loves her.This is a global question that all couples should answer before they commit to each other. This version was simply more quirky, yet that made us pay attention much better. In truth, it applies to everyone.We likewise all delighted in reading a Rom Com/Chick Lit kind book however from a male perspective. Very refreshing. Rosie"s Turn:She had apparent anger/abandonment problems. It encouraged all her habits and also interactions.She was versus stereotypes to a severe. We pointed a couple of out that were amusing prefer a straight girl working at a gay bar, acting prefer a "dumb" bartender but she is actually a genius. It made us understand Rosie even more as the book went on.Before we learn more about Rosie, we absolutely like Don a lot more.We love exactly how much Don welcomed and also adored Rosie"s aggressive independence, yet it likewise made him blind to her need for love and assistance for a time.The NYC expedition was perfect. They gained to know each various other and also we gained to recognize each of them better. They kbrand-new they can be a pair after that, however that realization scared Rosie.Gene and also Claudia:We invested a great deal of time talking about them as a couple, as Don"s true friends, and also just how they aided Rosie and Don gain together.Gene is shown as a buffoon, but he is really quite brilliant and very caring.Gene knew Rosie and also Don would certainly be perfect for each various other bereason she was smart enough to keep pace via him and her emotional problems can be aided by Don"s extreme thinking. Gene well-known that Rosie and Don each had abilities and personality traits that the various other necessary.Claudia was loved by us all. She was the grounded, "mommy earth" character. But we felt poor for her that the open marriage via Gene which she initially agreed to, was making her upset currently. We were sad that she couldn"t tell Gene herself, however were super happy when Don got enough social awareness to acknowledge her adjust of heart and also told Gene.Claudia was a perfect therapist. She listened to Don and gave sound advice without ever telling him what to carry out.We went back to the start of the novel to talk around Don and the talk he offered for Julie and also her team of children via Asperger"sThis interaction to begin the novel put up 2 opposing views of Asperger"s. Julie"s watch that it is a flegislation in these children which should be overcome and also Don"s watch that it provides these youngsters an advantage that they need to recognize just how to make use of in the "normal people."We pertained to understand Don much better bereason of this interaction.We then had a talk about Asperger"s and how it is acquiring more acceptance currently. People common stories of civilization they kbrand-new that they assumed of as "different" however were most likely simply undiagnosed at the moment.Someone mutual that she had actually simply watched a Ted Talk about Asperger"s where the speaker said it is actually an development of the brain. He experienced it as development of our mental powers as humans. Very exciting.We talked around exactly how world with Asperger"s require human being favor Don to bridge the gap.The Title-- The Rosie Project:There are so many type of projects here.The Wife ProjectThe Dad ProjectThe Don ProjectThe Rosie ProjectThe title is from the last task bereason it is from Don"s POV and also that is the task that is the many essential. It is the outcome of every one of the other projects.

See more: Rainbow Kitten Surprise How To: Friend, Love, Freefall, How To: Friend, Love, Freefall

Words to Describe This Book:engagingromantic comedyuntypical humanizingquirkydelightfulcompellingphilosophicalself reflectivegood charactersbelieved provokingfunReadalikes: Tbelow is a sequel-- The Rosie Effect-- which only 1 perkid had check out so far. We vacillated in between wanted her to tell us every little thing, and also making her save the details to herself so we might all check out and enjoy it.If you are looking for various other discussable books via a quirky initially perboy narration try The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (autistic kid narrator),Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem (adult via Tourette"s Syndrome) or Unexpectedly, Milo by Matthew Dicks (OCD).Don reminded many type of of us of Sheldon from the well-known sitcom The Big Bang Theory. If you like that show, you will gain this novel.The novel is the majority of similar to an old fashioned, screwsphere, romantic comedy, prefer those featuring Katherine Hepburn. Try Bringing Up Baby or The Philadelphia Story.What I uncovered the majority of intriguing around The Rosie Projectwas that at its heart it was a quirky, romantic comedy via meat. Meaning that I had actually fun while analysis this fun and emotional love story, however it additionally obtained me thinking around bigger issues past if the couple would certainly end up together. Two other publications I have actually read that recorded me in a similar means (with links to my longer reviews) were Eleanor and also Park by Rainbow Rowell and Major Pettigrew"s Last Stand by Helen Simonboy.If you appreciated the awkward men finding love and also coming to a better understanding of themselves in the process, NoveList suggests- Us by David Nicholls, Addition by Toni Jordan or The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence.